Deliveroo does not publish a standard Deliveroo commission rate for restaurants in Ireland or the UK. Its partner terms describe the fee as a percentage of the order value including VAT, with VAT added on top, and the percentage is set in each restaurant’s own agreement. Just Eat publishes its commission in the UK but not in Ireland. Uber Eats publishes its fees in both countries.
Every rate on this page links to the company page it came from. All were checked on 10 September 2026. Where a company does not publish a rate, this page says so and shows where your own rate appears.
Commission is one line on the invoice. VAT on the fee, refunds, offers you fund, activation or joining fees and advertising all change what you really pay. The worked examples show the maths in euro and sterling, and the calculator section gives a formula you can apply to your own invoice in five minutes.
Deliveroo commission rate compared with Just Eat and Uber Eats
| App and country | App couriers deliver | You deliver | Customer collects | Joining or activation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Just Eat UK | 30% + VAT | 14% + VAT | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page | Just Eat UK partner page |
| Just Eat Ireland | Not published, higher than own delivery | Not published | Not published | Free to join | Just Eat Ireland partner page |
| Deliveroo UK | Percentage in your agreement + VAT | Percentage in your agreement + VAT (Marketplace+) | Percentage in your agreement + VAT (Pickup) | One-off joining fee, amount not published | Deliveroo UK partner terms |
| Deliveroo Ireland | Percentage in your agreement + VAT | Percentage in your agreement + VAT (Marketplace+) | Percentage in your agreement + VAT (Pickup) | One-off joining fee, amount not published | Deliveroo Ireland partner terms |
| Uber Eats UK | 30% + VAT | 13% + VAT | 13% + VAT | £650 excluding VAT | Uber Eats UK pricing |
| Uber Eats Ireland | 30% + VAT | 13% + VAT | 13% + VAT | €650 initial fee | Uber Eats Ireland pricing |
All rows were checked on 10 September 2026. “Plus VAT” means VAT at the standard rate on the fee: 23% in Ireland and 20% in the UK. The Uber Eats Irish pricing page does not print a VAT line, but the Irish merchant terms say fees exclude VAT and the merchant pays any VAT due on them.
Three gaps stand out. Just Eat’s UK page does not state a separate rate for collection orders. Just Eat Ireland publishes no percentage at all. Deliveroo publishes the basis of its fee but not the percentage, in either country.
Comparison sites and software sellers publish Deliveroo ranges without linking to Deliveroo. Treat those as estimates. Independent reporting with a named source is thin. Ronan Carbery of University College Cork wrote on RTÉ Brainstorm on 7 November 2025 that platforms charge commission of 25% to 35% per order, citing a Guardian report. That range is not split by app or country, so use it as context, not as your rate.
Deliveroo commission rate in the partner terms
Fee basis
Deliveroo publishes separate partner terms for the UK and Ireland. In Ireland the contracting company is Deliveroo Ireland Limited, company number 556923, with an address in Ballsbridge, Dublin 4.
Both sets of terms describe the service fee the same way: a percentage of GMV, inclusive of VAT, per order, plus VAT. GMV is the value of the order. In plain terms, the percentage is applied to the menu price the customer pays, including the VAT inside that price, and then VAT is charged on the fee.
The UK Delivery Service section shows a last-updated date of 14 January 2021. The Irish Delivery Service section shows 11 November 2020.
Delivery, Marketplace+ and Pickup
The terms set out three main services, each with its own fee in your agreement:
- Delivery. Deliveroo riders collect and deliver.
- Marketplace+. You deliver with your own riders. Deliveroo’s partner FAQs say Marketplace+ partners can set their own delivery radius.
- Pickup. The customer collects from you.
Ask for the percentage for each service you plan to use. A single headline figure from a sales call is not enough.
Joining fee, tablet and payment timing
The terms describe a one-off joining fee for equipment. You choose between using your own device or leasing a Deliveroo device, and Deliveroo may charge a reasonable fee to repair or replace a device. The amount of the joining fee is not published.
Deliveroo’s partner FAQs say restaurants receive a tablet with an integrated printer for order receipts, that payments in the UK are issued weekly every Thursday, and that a new partner can be live in as little as seven days. The terms say fees are calculated weekly, over periods of about seven days, and paid by bank transfer.
Refunds, Marketer Tools and menu prices
- Refunds. The UK terms say refunds you are responsible for under Deliveroo’s complaints process are deducted from the payment to you.
- Marketer Tools. The UK terms section on Marketer Tools, last updated 11 September 2025, says those fees are stated excluding VAT and are deducted from the amounts payable to you. You also carry the cost of offers you run for customers through those tools.
- Menu prices. The Irish terms for Delivery and Marketplace+ say prices on the platform should match your dine-in or in-store menu. The Pickup terms let Deliveroo refund a customer who shows a lower in-store price and deduct that refund from you.
Price parity clauses affect how you set menu prices by channel. The detail belongs in restaurant menu management.
Deliveroo’s 2024 annual report figures
Deliveroo’s Annual Report and Accounts 2024 reports its UK and Ireland segment together:
| UK and Ireland, 2024 | Figure |
|---|---|
| Orders | 162.8 million |
| Gross transaction value | £4,488.9 million |
| GTV per order | £27.60 |
| Revenue | £1,254.4 million |
| Revenue take rate (revenue as % of GTV) | 27.9%, down from 28.9% in 2023 |
The 27.9% is not a commission rate. The report says Deliveroo’s revenue comes mainly from merchant commissions, consumer fees and merchant sign-up fees, with a growing share from advertising. GTV includes what customers pay in delivery and service fees. The take rate tells you how much of all customer spending Deliveroo kept, not what an individual restaurant pays.
Just Eat commission rate in the UK
Published rates and examples
Just Eat’s UK partner page, checked on 10 September 2026, publishes two rates:
| Delivery model | Commission | Just Eat’s example on a £20 order |
|---|---|---|
| You deliver with your own drivers | 14% + VAT | £3.36 (£2.80 + 56p VAT) |
| Just Eat delivers | 30% + VAT | £7.20 (£6.00 + £1.20 VAT) |
The page describes the standard offer to new partners. If you joined years ago or agreed different terms, your invoice is the record of what you pay. The page does not state a separate commission for collection orders, so ask for it in writing.
Payment timing and joining
Just Eat says commission is deducted from your weekly order revenue. You receive an account invoice every Tuesday and the balance is paid into your bank account every Friday. The page says a business can usually go online within five working days once documents are sent and the contract is signed.
In England, Wales and Northern Ireland, the page says you need a food hygiene rating of 3 or more from the Food Standards Agency to trade on Just Eat. In Scotland you need a Pass from Food Standards Scotland.
Just Eat Takeaway.com results for the UK and Ireland
Just Eat Takeaway.com’s Full Year 2024 Results, published on 24 February 2025, report the UK and Ireland as one segment:
| UK and Ireland, 2024 | Figure |
|---|---|
| Orders | 242 million |
| Gross transaction value | €7.1 billion |
| Revenue | €1,387 million |
| Average transaction value | €29.32 |
Dividing revenue by GTV gives about 19.5%. That is our calculation, not a figure Just Eat publishes, and it is not a commission rate. Segment revenue includes more than commission, and the results say GTV growth came from higher order values driven by food price inflation and increased consumer fees, with better advertising revenue also helping.
Just Eat commission rate in Ireland
Just Eat’s Irish partner page, checked on 10 September 2026, does not publish a percentage. It says:
- it is free to join Just Eat;
- the commission rate varies based on your business needs;
- the rate is higher if Just Eat provides couriers than if you use your own;
- Just Eat can provide couriers, except in some rural areas;
- your business needs to register with the Food Safety Authority of Ireland and pass its food hygiene inspection to trade.
Do not assume the UK percentages apply in Ireland. Before you sign, ask Just Eat for a written quote showing the commission for own delivery, for Just Eat couriers and for collection, whether VAT is added, and any other charges. After you join, your weekly invoice shows the rate applied.
Uber Eats commission for restaurants in Ireland and the UK
Published fees
Uber Eats publishes the same percentages in both countries on its UK pricing page and its Irish pricing page, both checked on 10 September 2026.
| Fee | UK | Ireland |
|---|---|---|
| Uber couriers deliver | 30% | 30% |
| Self-delivery with your staff | 13% | 13% |
| Pickup | 13% | 13% |
| Activation fee | £650 excluding VAT | €650 initial fee |
The UK page says all its marketplace fees exclude VAT and that these pricing options are only available in the UK. The UK page also says Uber One benefits and discounts may or may not apply to your restaurant, at Uber Eats’ discretion.
The merchant terms explain where your own rate sits. The UK merchant terms, last updated 16 June 2025, are with Uber Eats UK Limited. The Irish merchant terms, last modified 3 February 2026, are with Uber Eats Ireland Limited. The UK terms say the service fee for each delivery method is specified in your Order Form. Ask Uber Eats Ireland where your Irish rate is recorded if you cannot find an Order Form.
Activation fee
Both pricing pages say the activation fee covers a tablet, a printer, menu creation, professional photography, a window sticker, a welcome pack and an activation training call. Both say the fee can be adjusted if you opt out of items such as photography or equipment.
The Irish page says the €650 is deducted from your revenue in the first eight weeks, with a maximum of €50 a week. Ask Uber Eats to confirm in writing how any balance above those weekly deductions is collected.
Other charges and contract term
The UK merchant terms list other charges that can reduce your payout:
- Device damage fee. £200 for a device that is lost, stolen, not returned on time or damaged beyond normal wear.
- Substandard item delivery fee. Uber may charge this to offset delivery costs, and may deduct refunds from your revenue.
- Offer tool fees. Fees for creating and redeeming offers, excluding VAT, deducted from your payment or invoiced in arrears.
The agreement runs for an initial term of one year and renews automatically for one-year periods. The notice terms sit in your Order Form. Put the renewal date in your diary.
Lite, Plus and Premium plans in the US
News stories about Uber Eats Lite, Plus and Premium plans can confuse owners here. Uber’s help article on marketplace fee changes describes changes effective 11 March 2026 in the US, with delivery fees of 20% on Lite, 25% on Plus and 30% on Premium. Those are US figures. The UK and Irish pricing pages list the rates in the table above.
Fee types on delivery app invoices
| Charge | What it is | Where it appears |
|---|---|---|
| Commission or service fee | Percentage of each order, by delivery method | Weekly invoice or statement |
| VAT on fees | 23% in Ireland or 20% in the UK on the app’s fees | Same invoice, as a separate VAT line |
| Joining, activation or equipment fee | One-off charge for set-up and devices | First invoices, sometimes spread over weeks |
| Device repair or damage | Charge for replacing or repairing a tablet | Invoice when it happens |
| Customer refunds | Refunds for missing or wrong items that the app assigns to you | Statement adjustments |
| Offer costs | Discounts you fund, plus any fee for the offer tool | Statement or invoice |
| Advertising | Paid placement or marketing tools | Invoice or deduction from payout |
| Price-difference refunds | Refunds under a price parity clause, such as Deliveroo Pickup | Statement adjustments |
Customers pay their own fees too. Deliveroo’s UK customer FAQ lists a delivery fee, a service fee and a small order fee when a basket is below the restaurant’s minimum spend. Its Irish customer FAQ describes the same small order fee. Those fees are not deducted from your payout, but they affect what customers will spend. Minimum order values and basket size are covered in how to increase average order value.
VAT on commission in Ireland and the UK
VAT rates on app fees
The apps add VAT on top of their fees. Use the standard rate for your country when checking an invoice:
- Ireland: 23%, per Revenue’s current VAT rates, effective from 1 January 2026.
- UK: 20%, per GOV.UK VAT rates.
VAT on the food you sell is a separate question. In Ireland, the Department of Finance says the 9% rate applies to food and catering services from 1 July 2026. In the UK, HMRC’s Notice 709/1 says hot takeaway food is standard-rated and cold takeaway food is generally zero-rated. Ask your accountant to confirm the rate for each item you sell.
VAT-registered restaurants
Revenue says you can reclaim VAT charged on goods and services used for your taxable supplies if you are registered, and that you need records including a valid VAT invoice. GOV.UK sets out the UK rules on reclaiming VAT on business expenses.
For a VAT-registered restaurant, the VAT on commission normally comes back through the VAT return. The real cost is the fee before VAT. The cash still leaves your account every week, so the VAT on fees affects cash flow until the return is filed.
Keep every app invoice. Each one should show the supplier’s name, VAT number and the VAT charged. Download them weekly rather than at year end.
Restaurants below the VAT threshold
If you are not registered for VAT, you cannot reclaim the VAT on app fees. It is a straight cost, which makes the real rate 23% higher in Ireland and 20% higher in the UK than the headline percentage. A 30% fee costs 36.9% of the order in Ireland and 36% in the UK.
The registration thresholds are:
- Ireland: €42,500 for services and €85,000 for goods, per Revenue’s thresholds page.
- UK: £90,000 of taxable turnover in the last 12 months, per GOV.UK.
Ask your accountant which Irish threshold applies to your mix of food and service, and when app fees make registration worth considering.
Commission on VAT-inclusive prices
The apps calculate commission on the price the customer pays, which already includes the VAT you owe on the food. Deliveroo’s terms say so directly: a percentage of GMV inclusive of VAT. The Uber Eats terms say your retail price includes VAT. Just Eat’s UK example applies 14% to the full £20 order.
Example: a £20 hot takeaway order in the UK contains £3.33 of VAT, because hot takeaway food is standard-rated at 20%. At Just Eat’s published 14%, the commission on the whole order is £2.80. Of that, 47p is commission charged on the VAT portion, money that goes to HMRC, not to you.
Suppliers outside Ireland or the UK
If a supplier invoices you from outside the country, the reverse charge may apply. Revenue’s guidance on self-accounting for VAT on received services says you account for the VAT in your return at the Irish rate, and that there is no registration threshold for received services. In the UK, VAT Notice 741A section 5 covers the reverse charge, and GOV.UK says reverse-charged services count towards your VAT registration threshold.
The Uber Eats and Deliveroo Irish terms name Irish companies, and the Uber Eats UK terms name a UK company. Check the supplier name, address and VAT number on each invoice you receive. If any invoice comes from outside the country, ask your accountant how to treat it.
Platform reporting to HMRC
Under the UK reporting rules for digital platforms, platforms must collect and check information about sellers and report details about them to HMRC. Make sure the sales you declare match the gross figures on your app statements.
Commission calculator and worked examples
The calculation is simple:
App deduction = order value × commission rate × (1 + VAT rate)
Use 1.23 for Ireland and 1.20 for the UK. If you are VAT-registered and reclaim the VAT, your real cost is order value × commission rate.
Commission plus VAT on a €25 or £25 order
| Commission rate | Ireland fee | Ireland VAT at 23% | Ireland total | UK fee | UK VAT at 20% | UK total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 13% | €3.25 | €0.75 | €4.00 | £3.25 | £0.65 | £3.90 |
| 14% | €3.50 | €0.81 | €4.31 | £3.50 | £0.70 | £4.20 |
| 25% (illustrative) | €6.25 | €1.44 | €7.69 | £6.25 | £1.25 | £7.50 |
| 30% | €7.50 | €1.73 | €9.23 | £7.50 | £1.50 | £9.00 |
The 13%, 14% and 30% rows match rates published by Uber Eats or Just Eat UK. The 25% row is illustrative only and is not a published rate for any app.
Example 1: UK takeaway, Just Eat, own drivers
Example: a £25 hot food order delivered by your own driver, at Just Eat UK’s published 14%.
- Commission: £25 × 14% = £3.50
- VAT on commission: £3.50 × 20% = £0.70
- Deducted from your payout: £4.20
- Paid to you for this order: £20.80
- VAT inside the £25 food price: £4.17
- Net sales after VAT on food: £20.83
- Net sales after commission, if you reclaim the £0.70: £17.33, before food, packaging and driver costs
Example 2: UK takeaway, Just Eat delivers
Example: the same £25 order delivered by Just Eat at the published 30%.
- Commission: £25 × 30% = £7.50
- VAT on commission: £1.50
- Deducted: £9.00
- Paid to you: £16.00
- Net sales after food VAT and commission, if you reclaim the VAT on the fee: £20.83 − £7.50 = £13.33
Example 3: Irish restaurant, Uber Eats couriers
Example: a €30 order delivered by an Uber courier at the published 30%.
- Fee: €30 × 30% = €9.00
- VAT on fee at 23%: €2.07
- Deducted: €11.07
- Paid to you: €18.93, before any activation instalments, refunds or offers
- If you are not VAT-registered, the €11.07 is your cost: 36.9% of the order
Example 4: Irish restaurant, Uber Eats self-delivery
Example: the same €30 order delivered by your own driver at the published 13%. Driver cost is an assumption for this example: €5.00 per delivery.
- Fee: €30 × 13% = €3.90
- VAT on fee: €0.90
- Deducted: €4.80
- Paid to you: €25.20
- Fee plus driver cost, before VAT: €3.90 + €5.00 = €8.90, compared with €9.00 when Uber delivers
The two models cost almost the same per order in this example. Own delivery only pays if your cost per drop is below the gap between the two rates. Cost per delivery, driver employment status and insurance are covered in restaurant delivery management software.
Example 5: Deliveroo, rate from your agreement
Deliveroo does not publish a percentage, so this example uses an illustrative 25%. It is not Deliveroo’s rate. Replace it with the percentage in your agreement.
Example: a £30 order including VAT on Deliveroo Delivery.
- Fee: 25% of the VAT-inclusive order, £30 × 25% = £7.50
- VAT on fee: £1.50
- Deducted: £9.00
- Paid to you: £21.00, before refunds, Marketer Tools charges and offers
Example 6: a month on Uber Eats in Ireland
Example: an Irish takeaway turning over €20,000 a month on Uber Eats. €12,000 of orders are delivered by Uber couriers and €8,000 by the restaurant’s own driver. Refunds and offers are assumptions for the example.
| Line | Amount |
|---|---|
| Uber courier orders: €12,000 × 30% | €3,600.00 |
| Self-delivery orders: €8,000 × 13% | €1,040.00 |
| Total fees before VAT | €4,640.00 |
| VAT on fees at 23% | €1,067.20 |
| Refunds deducted (example) | €150.00 |
| Offer discounts funded (example) | €300.00 |
| Activation instalments in an early month (4 × €50) | €200.00 |
| Total deducted | €6,357.20 |
| Total deducted as % of €20,000 | 31.8% |
| Total excluding reclaimable VAT on fees | €5,290.00 |
| As % of €20,000 | 26.5% |
The headline fees alone are 23.2% of sales before VAT. Refunds, offers and set-up charges add more than three percentage points in this example.
Example 7: a month on Just Eat in the UK
Example: a UK takeaway turning over £15,000 a month on Just Eat. £9,000 of orders are delivered by Just Eat and £6,000 by the restaurant’s drivers. Refunds are an assumption for the example.
| Line | Amount |
|---|---|
| Just Eat delivery: £9,000 × 30% | £2,700.00 |
| Own delivery: £6,000 × 14% | £840.00 |
| Total commission before VAT | £3,540.00 |
| VAT at 20% | £708.00 |
| Refunds deducted (example) | £120.00 |
| Total deducted | £4,368.00 |
| As % of £15,000 | 29.1% |
| Excluding reclaimable VAT | £3,660.00, or 24.4% |
Your own rate from partner invoices
Published rates tell you the starting point. Your invoices tell you what you pay. Work it out once a month.
- Find your agreement. For Uber Eats, the service fee for each delivery method is in your Order Form. For Deliveroo and Just Eat, it is in the contract you signed. Ask the app for a copy if you cannot find it.
- Download one full week of invoices and statements. Just Eat UK issues an account invoice every Tuesday. Deliveroo pays UK partners weekly on Thursdays. Uber Eats deducts fees from the revenue it pays you.
- Split gross order value by delivery method. App couriers, own delivery and collection each have a different rate.
- Divide the commission line by the gross order value for each method. This is your contracted rate in practice. It should match your agreement.
- Add VAT on fees. This is your cash cost for the week.
- Add refunds, adjustments, offer costs, advertising and device or activation charges. This gives your all-in deduction.
- Divide the all-in deduction by gross order value. This is your effective rate.
- Compare with last month. A rising effective rate with a flat commission rate usually means refunds or offers are growing.
- Raise any mismatch in writing. Quote the invoice number, the clause in your agreement and the amount.
Weekly reconciliation template
| Line | Where to find it | This week |
|---|---|---|
| Gross order value, app couriers | App order report or statement | |
| Gross order value, own delivery | App order report or statement | |
| Gross order value, collection | App order report or statement | |
| Commission or service fee | Invoice | |
| VAT on fees | Invoice | |
| Refunds and adjustments | Statement | |
| Offers and advertising | Invoice or statement | |
| Device, joining or activation charges | Invoice | |
| Amount paid to your bank | Bank statement | |
| Effective rate | All deductions ÷ gross order value |
Match the amount paid to your bank against the invoice every week. A missing week or a double deduction is easier to fix within days than months. Reporting orders and fees by channel alongside your own POS sales is covered in restaurant analytics software.
Negotiable and fixed terms
Published percentages are the starting position. Some parts of the deal are set, some depend on choices you make, and some are worth asking about.
| Term | What the sources say | Room to discuss |
|---|---|---|
| Just Eat UK percentages | 14% own delivery, 30% Just Eat delivery, published | Choice of delivery model changes the rate |
| Just Eat Ireland percentage | Varies based on your business needs | Ask for a written quote for each model |
| Deliveroo percentage | Set in your agreement for each service | Ask for each service separately |
| Uber Eats percentages | 30%, 13% and 13%, published | Choice of delivery model changes the rate |
| Uber Eats activation fee | Can be adjusted by opting out of items | Opt out of photography or equipment you do not need |
| Offers and advertising | Optional tools with their own fees | You choose whether to run them and set budgets |
| Uber Eats contract term | One year, renewing automatically | Diary the renewal date and review before it |
Preparation before a rate conversation
- Your weekly order count and gross order value for the last three months, by app and delivery method.
- Your refund rate by app, with the reasons.
- Your average order value on each app.
- Your hygiene rating and review score on each app.
- The delivery model you want: own drivers, app couriers or both.
- A clear request: a lower percentage, a waived joining fee, a reduced activation fee, or a fixed offer budget.
No app has to agree. Put what you are offered in writing, and read the new terms before you accept them.
Questions to ask before you sign or renew
- What is the commission for app delivery, own delivery and collection, in writing?
- Is VAT added to every fee, and at what rate?
- Is there a joining, activation or equipment fee, and how is it collected?
- What happens if a tablet or printer is damaged or not returned?
- Which refunds are charged to the restaurant, and how do I dispute one?
- Does the agreement include a price parity clause for my shop or website?
- Are offers and advertising optional, and how are their fees charged?
- How long is the contract, does it renew automatically, and what is the notice period?
- When are invoices issued and when is money paid to my bank?
- Where do I download invoices and order reports?
- Does the rate change after a trial period or after a set number of orders?
- Who is my contact for billing disputes, and how quickly do they reply?
When the apps are worth paying for
The apps are expensive per order. They also bring customers you would not otherwise reach and couriers you do not employ. Both facts matter.
Discovery. Just Eat’s UK partner page says millions of customers visit the platform each month. Uber Eats says it connects restaurants with millions of active users around the world. Deliveroo’s UK partner page says 73% of its customers order only with Deliveroo each month, citing its own Q2 2023 panel. Many of those people choose from what the app shows them.
Delivery capacity. Without drivers, the app couriers are your delivery service. Just Eat’s Irish partner page says it can provide couriers, except in some rural areas.
Contribution per order. Compare what each order leaves after the costs that change with it.
Example: a £30 hot food order in the UK, which is £25.00 after food VAT. Food and packaging are assumed at £9.00, and a VAT-registered restaurant reclaims VAT on fees. Driver cost of £4.50 and direct card processing of 2% are assumptions for the example. Check with each app whether any payment charge sits outside the commission on your invoice.
| Channel | App fee or card cost | Driver cost | Contribution before labour and rent |
|---|---|---|---|
| Just Eat delivers at 30% | £9.00 commission | £0.00 | £7.00 |
| Just Eat, own driver at 14% | £4.20 commission | £4.50 | £7.30 |
| Direct collection | £0.60 card processing | £0.00 | £15.40 |
An app order that earns £7.00 is still worth taking when the kitchen has spare capacity and the customer is new. The same order is a loss of £8.40 against direct collection when it replaces a regular who would have collected. The question for every app order is whether it is extra business or a regular who went through the app out of habit.
Keep the apps for discovery and quiet-night volume. Price and menu decisions by channel should respect your agreement. Then give the customers who already know you a better way to reorder directly.
Common mistakes with delivery app fees
- Comparing headline rates without VAT. For a restaurant below the VAT threshold, 30% is really 36.9% in Ireland and 36% in the UK.
- Using another country’s rates. Just Eat’s UK percentages are not published for Ireland.
- Quoting US Uber Eats plans. Lite, Plus and Premium news relates to the US.
- Ignoring commission on the VAT portion. The fee is calculated on the VAT-inclusive price.
- Treating a take rate as a commission rate. Deliveroo’s 27.9% includes consumer fees and advertising.
- Not checking refunds. Deductions for missing items can be wrong, and they add up.
- Forgetting activation and device charges. They hit the first weeks’ payouts.
- Letting a contract renew unread. Uber Eats terms renew for a year at a time.
- Pricing by channel without reading parity clauses. Deliveroo’s Irish terms tie platform prices to your in-store menu.
- Counting orders, not contribution. A busy app week can leave less money than a quieter week with more direct collection.
Marketplace customers and direct orders
A customer who finds you on an app and comes back three times a month through the same app pays commission on every order. Moving some of those regulars to your own ordering channel, within each app’s rules, is the fastest way to lower your blended fee. The step-by-step plan, including what each app’s terms say about customer data and promoting your own channels, is in the guide on how to get more direct orders.
Eclyde is built for that job. It is a restaurant growth platform for independent restaurants in Ireland and the UK: marketplaces for discovery, Eclyde to turn those customers into direct, repeat customers. There is no Eclyde commission on direct orders. The platform costs €499 to launch, then €99 a month, with no limits on orders or customers, and the launch fee is refunded in full within 30 days if Eclyde is not right for the restaurant.
The launch covers menu build, a branded ordering website on your own domain with pickup and delivery, POS and printer configuration, customer import, staff onboarding, testing and go-live support. Eclyde does not process cards. Online payments go through your own Stripe account, so card fees are Stripe’s. The restaurant owns its customer data, including order history and favourite items, and can use loyalty, referral rewards, discount codes and email and SMS campaigns with customers who consent. How flat-fee ordering compares with commission-based ordering, with break-even maths, is under commission-free online ordering. The different types of online ordering system for restaurants are compared separately, and consent-based customer lists are covered under restaurant CRM.
Your restaurant’s numbers
Published rates are only the start. Your effective rate depends on your delivery mix, refunds, offers and VAT position. The free Eclyde audit looks at your marketplace listings, your Google profile and your direct ordering options, and shows where commission is costing you most. Bring one month of Just Eat, Deliveroo or Uber Eats invoices and you will leave with a clear figure for each app. The audit is useful whether or not you ever use Eclyde. Request your free restaurant audit.
Questions
What is the Deliveroo commission rate for restaurants in the UK?
Deliveroo does not publish a standard UK rate. Its UK partner terms say the service fee is a percentage of the order value including VAT, plus VAT, and the percentage is set in your own agreement. Delivery, Marketplace+ and Pickup each carry their own fee. Ask for every rate in writing before you sign, then check it against your weekly invoice.
What is the Deliveroo commission rate in Ireland?
Deliveroo does not publish a standard Irish rate either. Restaurants contract with Deliveroo Ireland Limited, and the Irish terms use the same fee basis as the UK: a percentage of the order value including VAT, plus VAT at the prevailing rate. The standard VAT rate in Ireland is 23%. Your agreement and weekly invoices show the percentage you pay.
What is Just Eat's commission rate in Ireland?
Just Eat does not publish an Irish percentage. Its Irish partner page says it is free to join, that the commission varies with your business needs, and that the rate is higher when Just Eat provides couriers than when you use your own drivers. Ask for a written quote for each delivery model before you sign.
What is Just Eat's commission rate in the UK?
Just Eat's UK partner page, checked in September 2026, lists 14% plus VAT on orders you deliver with your own drivers and 30% plus VAT on orders Just Eat delivers. On a £20 order that is £3.36 including VAT for own delivery and £7.20 including VAT when Just Eat delivers. Commission is deducted from weekly order revenue.
How much does Uber Eats charge restaurants in the UK and Ireland?
Uber Eats pricing pages for both countries list a 30% fee when Uber couriers deliver, 13% for self-delivery and 13% for pickup. The UK page lists a £650 activation fee excluding VAT. The Irish page lists a €650 initial fee deducted from revenue in the first eight weeks. The merchant terms say fees exclude VAT.
Is VAT charged on Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats commission?
Yes. The apps charge VAT on their fees, at 23% in Ireland and 20% in the UK. If you are registered for VAT and the fees relate to your taxable sales, you can normally reclaim that VAT with a valid VAT invoice. If you are not registered, the VAT on commission is a straight cost to the business.
Can I negotiate commission with Just Eat, Deliveroo or Uber Eats?
Some terms move. Just Eat Ireland says its rate varies with business needs, Deliveroo sets rates in each agreement, and Uber Eats says its activation fee can be adjusted if you opt out of items such as photography or equipment. Choosing own delivery also changes the published rate. Prepare your order volumes and ask in writing.
How do I calculate my real commission rate from a delivery app invoice?
Add every deduction for one week: commission, VAT on fees, refunds, offers you funded, advertising and device or activation charges. Divide the total by the gross value of orders for the same week. Do it separately for app delivery, own delivery and pickup. Repeat monthly so you spot changes quickly.
Are the Uber Eats Lite, Plus and Premium plans used in the UK and Ireland?
The Uber help article describing Lite, Plus and Premium fee changes from 11 March 2026 applies to restaurants in the United States. Uber's UK and Irish pricing pages, checked in September 2026, list delivery at 30%, self-delivery at 13% and pickup at 13%. Ask your Uber Eats contact which option your contract uses.